Gentoo updating live ebuilds (version 9999) in a layman overlay

I religiously update my gentoo every morning and I’ve only recently started using layman for the xeffects overlay for compiz-fusion. I had been running layman -S to sync the overlay ebuilds but I was concerned that I hadn’t emerged anything from the overlay since the initial installation. Spurred on by the beautiful demos on http://fusioncast.blogspot.com I decided to look into it.

It turns out that “live” ebuilds are always given the version 9999 so when I do emerge –update –deep world it doesn’t notice a version change and doesn’t do anything.

There’s a nice tool called eix that helps out here. Once installed and after running update-eix I ran the following to re-emerge all the live ebuilds in the xeffects overlay.

emerge -av `eix -Jc –in-overlay “/usr/portage/local/layman/xeffects” | grep 9999 | cut -d” ” -f2 | tr “\n” ” “`

I was informed on #gentoo-uk that with the new palaudis system this will be taken care of.

Leave a Reply

