No source code for MyPodder?

Podcatcher-on-a-Stick Support Forum :: View topic – podcatcher on a stick >gets> podcastready.com

Where’s the source for mypodder?

I really liked the sound of podcastready.com except that it smacked of a closed source proprietary model.

I couldn’t find any reference to open source or sign of a developers section so I downloaded the software and to my great disappointment found an exe and a closed source eula.
What happened? Why couldn’t you keep it open and let the community help out with the Linux and Mac versions? You could also have the ability to export your account from podcastready so that people won’t feel like they’re getting locked in.

Unfortunately it looks like a proprietary trap to me. If you want to charge for a service then fine. I’m sure you could offer services that add value that people would be glad to pay for but not if there’s no way out.

I sincerely hope you can reconsider as I’ve really enjoyed podcatcher on a stick.

Technorati Tags: , , ,

2 thoughts on “No source code for MyPodder?”

  1. Cillian,

    I am glad that you like the idea of Podcast Ready, at least in concept at this point. You are correct that myPodder is not open source, although Podcatcher-on-a-Stick is and is still available.

    Our goal is to try to bring this technology to the mainstream public by having it installed on MP3 devices at the factory. In order to do this we needed to develop a commercial version of the application.

    But it is by no means meant to be a proprietary “trap”. The software and the services are free to the community. The synchronization between the client and the web services can be turned off with a single check, and the subscription list can be exported to a standard OPML file from the “options” menu.

    What we have managed to do is put together a system that allows users to subscribe to any podcast from any web site or directory with a single click, and without installing any software.

    We’re just trying to make things as easy to use as possible, and we weren’t able to garner the support from the manufacturer’s without a commercial version.

  2. Russell,

    Thank you kindly for responding to my concern. I can see that you’ve not taken the decision to go closed source without due consideration.

    I think it’s a great shame that there’s a lack of enthusiasm amongst MP3 device manufactures to support open source software. I would have hoped that they were catching on with Mobile Phone companies beginning to embrace Linux and successfully established companies such as Archos and TiVo proving it makes business sense. I myself have a cheap generic MP3 player with closed source firmware so I can’t say I won’t support closed source software under any condition but how I wish I could tweak it just a bit!

    I think it’s a wise decision to allow your customers to export their subscription list as you describe. I know your site is just taking off at the moment so it’s not surprising I didn’t come across these details yet.

    I sincerely hope that somewhere down the road the manufacturers will see the benefits to their business by supporting open source software but until then I’ll be happy to continue using Podcatcher-on-a-stick and hopefully even contribute to its further development.

    I wish you the best of luck with this venture and hope somehow to see the open source version of mypodder preinstalled on my mobile phone sometime in the future when the industry catches up 😀

Leave a Reply

